People

"If we knew what it was we were doing, it would not be called research, would it?" - Unknown

Prof. Danny Bluestein

Dr. Bluestein's work tackles the dynamics of flow and cellular transport in blood recirculating devices and the diseased cardiovascular system. Non-physiological flow fields that arise as a result of cardiovascular diseases and prosthetic devices have a complex interaction with the blood vessels and the blood itself. Over the last decade, evidence has accumulated indicating that local flow induced mechanical forces alter the molecular mechanism of the formed elements of blood, and have a major effect on blood clotting. The end result can be thrombus formation that can occlude arteries, or handicap the functionality of implanted devices. The long term goal of Dr. Bluestein's work is to elucidate flow-induced pathologies in blood recirculating devices and the cardiovascular system in order to advance our understanding of the different aspects of flows in biological systems. This research involves the use of sophisticated non-invasive techniques, such as numerical modeling of devices and pathologies, multiscale modeling of platelets, and innovative biochemical assaying techniques. Research is conducted in the following areas:

Faculty

Jawaad Sheriff, Ph.D.

Research Assistant Professor

Postdoctoral Fellows

Peng Zhang, Ph.D.

Postdoc

Oren M. Rotman, Ph.D.

Postdoc

Graduate Students

Philip Chiu, B.E.

Ph.D. Student

Matteo Bianchi, M.S.

Ph.D. Student

Ram P. Ghosh, M.S.

Ph.D. Student

Prachi Gupta, M.S.

Ph.D. Student, AMS

Brandon Kovarovic, M.E.

Ph.D. Student, Lieber Lab



brandon.kovarovic@stonybrook.edu

Wenguo Gao

B.S/M.S. Student



wenguo.gao@stonybrook.edu

Peineng Wang

Ph.D. Rotation Student



peineng.wang@stonybrook.edu

Amanda Zigomalas

B.S./M.S. Student



amanda.zigomalas@stonybrook.edu

Natasha Ziolkowski

B.S./M.S. Student



natasha.ziolkowski@stonybrook.edu

Undergraduate Students

Brianne Polehinke

Undergraduate Student



brianne.polehinke@stonybrook.edu

Ziwei (Greymi) Tan

Undergraduate Student



ziwei.tan@stonybrook.edu

Haleigh Rock

Undergraduate Student



haleigh.rock@stonybrook.edu